Presidency appoints new governing board for National Merit Award

Reading Time: 1 minute

[Abuja]–President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of a new Governing Board for the Nigerian National Merit Award (NNMA).

The approval is contained in a press release made available by the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation.

According to the release, Professor Shekarau Yakubu Aku is now the new Chairman and other members include, Professor Sheik Ahmed Abdullahi, Professor Muhammad Hassan, Professor Joseph J. Andy, Professor Adele Jinadu, Profesor Andrew Nok and Professor Laz E. N. Ekwueme.

The appointment which takes effect from March 27, 2017 is for a period of three years.

The NNMA board is charged with the responsibility of conducting the the Nigerian National Order of Merit Award, an academic award conferred on distinguished academicians and intellectuals who have made outstanding contributions to the academic, growth and development of Nigeria.

Established in 1979,  the NNMA is the highest academic award in Nigeria and the board has so far been conferred the award on only 70 distinguished academicians which include Isidore Okpewho, Ladi Kwali, Chinua Achebe, Wole Soyinka, Teslim Olawale Elias, Francis Idachaba, Mabel Segun, Oyewale Tomori and more recently, Niyi Osundare amongst others.

Copyright 2017 The Page. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *