University of Ibadan promotes 13 academic staff as Professors, 19 as Readers

Reading Time: 3 minutes

[Ibadan]–The University of Ibadan has promoted not less than 32 of its academic staff out which 13 were promoted to the Professorial cadre and 19 as Readers.

This was made known by Sunday Saanu, the Media Assistant to the office of the Vice Chancellor, University of Ibadan.

According to the media aide, this was made known at the end of the 2017 June meeting of Appointment and Promotion (A&P) Committee chaired by the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Abel Idowu Olayinka.

“It was joy all the way for 32 academic staff members of the University of Ibadan (UI) as the Institution promoted them to higher levels in their academic career.

“At the end of the 2017 June meeting of Appointment and Promotion (A&P) Committee chaired by the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Abel Idowu Olayinka , 13 of the newly promoted staff members were upgraded to a Professorial cadre while 19 were promoted to a Readership position (Associate Professor )

“Among those who became Professors are Prof Bolatito A. Lanre-Abass of Philosophy department , Victor O. Edo of History, Taiye R. Fashola (Botany), and A.A. Adeolu (Surgery).

“They also included A. O. Akinwole (Aquaculture and Fisheries Management ), Aderonke Akinpelu (Physiotherapy), Grace T. Fadupin (Human Nutrition), M.O. Owolabi (Medicine) and Grace A. Adejuwon (Psychology).

“Other Professors are B.O. Emikpe (Veterinary) O.O. Oluwole (Mechanical Engineering), S.S. Babalola (Psychology) and Ayotola Aremu of Teacher Education .

“Those who were promoted as Readers are A. B. Adeyemo (Computer Science), Kanayo S. Chukwuka (Botany) A. A. Ogunjobi (Microbiology), Olayinka R. Elyelade (Anesthesia), D.O. Irabor (Surgery) and F.A. Okanlawon (Nursing).

“Others on Readership cadre are C.O. Olaiya (Biochemistry), J.A. Olaniyi , (Haematology) A.O Omole (Forest Resources Management ) Kehinde O. Soetan (Vet. Physiology, Biochemistry & Phamacology) T.A.O. Salau (Mechanical Engineering) A. A. Olopade (Food Technology) and S.A. Babarinde (Teacher Education ).

“Also on the list were Modupe Osokoya (Institute of Education), D.A.Fadare (Mechanical Engineering ) G. M. Ayinnuola (Civil Engineering) O. Ayanniyi (Physiotherapy) C.O. Anyaeche (Industrial & Production Engineering) and S.O. Jimoh of Forest Resources Management,” the release added.

Saanu in the release further stated that “Meanwhile , many of the lucky academic staff members have been thanking the VC for a job well done, saying since the VC came on board, he has never taken the interests and welfare of staff for granted.”

A newly promoted academic staff who pleaded for anonymity was also quoted to have said, “it is on record that since Prof. Olayinka became the VC, promotion of staff has not been delayed. I thank God I have been promoted as Professor. I am so elated”.

Copyright 2017 The Page. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *