OAU, UNILAG, six other universities to enjoy uninterrupted power supply soon

Reading Time: 1 minute

[Abuja]–The Federal Government has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Rural Electrification Agency (REA) for the electrification of eight Federal Universities, one Teaching Hospital and their host communities.

The supply will come from off grid active plants and the Universities to benefit are; Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi; Bayero University, Kano; Usman Danfodio University, Sokoto; Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi; Nnamdi Azikwe University, Awka; University of Lagos, Akoka; Federal University of Petroleum Resources Effurun, Delta; Obafemi Awolowo University and Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospital, Osun.

According to the Head of Special Projects for the REA, Mrs Anita Otubu, “The Federal Government is keen on ensuring that its universities are at par with their international counterparts and recognises access to power as an essential commodity to achieve this.”

She also revealed that the first phase, which would be carried out in nine institutions would be completed in 2018 and would benefit over 300,000 students and staff.

The Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission, Prof Abubakar Rasheed, while expressing his appreciation said, “We must on behalf of NUC express our gratitude to REA, the Acting President and the Honorable Minister of Power, Works and Housing for this initiative.”

Copyright 2017 The Page. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to www.thepageng.com as the source.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *